top of page
CGA Zambia institutional emblem
Commonwealth Day 2020


The Commonwealth of Nations, normally known as The
Commonwealth, is a sui generis political association of 53 member
states, nearly all of them former territories of the British Empire. The chief
institutions of the organisation are the Commonwealth Secretariat, which focuses on intergovernmental aspects, and the Commonwealth Foundation, which focuses on non-governmental relations between member states.

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the international
organisation responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth and Commonwealth Youth Games, and is the foremost authority in matters relating to the games. The headquarters of CGF are located in London, England but working across 71 member nations and territories.

bottom of page