top of page
  • Writer's pictureFelix Munyika


Fresh from making history at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games in Japan a few weeks ago, Team Zambia Olympians Martha Tembo, Lushomo Mweemba, Anita Mulenga, Ireen Lungu, and Agness Musase are on the verge of adding to the Olympic milestone with yet another career-high achievement.

The five footballers are part of the Green Buffaloes Ladies Team that will be competing at the maiden Confederation of African Football (CAF) Women’s Champions League COSAFA qualifying tournament being staged in South Africa.

Zambian Champions Green Buffaloes Ladies will join six other league champions from across Southern Africa at the competition in Durban which will serve as the preliminary tournament for the first-ever TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League that is scheduled to be staged in Egypt later this year, with only the tournament winner advancing to the continental finals.

Martha Tembo (Green Jersey) in action during a league match Against Lusaka Dynamos Ladies FC recently. Picture by Just Images

Seeded in Group B, Green Buffaloes Ladies will start their campaign on Friday 27 August 2021 when they take on Black Rhinos Queens of Zimbabwe (1400hrs CAT). The other team in the group is TURA Magic of Namibia.

Anita Mulenga (Left) warming up with Teammate during a league match against Lusaka Dynamos Ladies. Picture by Just Images

Team Coach Charles Haluboono has named a 26-member squad for this historical tournament.

The 26-member Full-Squad List is as follows:


1. Aisha Mbwana

2. Blessing Kazil

3. Bupe Mwanza

4. Maleta Muwindwa


5. Atness Phiri

6. Martha Tembo

7. Memory Nthala

8. Anita Mulenga

9. Lushomo Mweemba

10. Annie Kibanji

11. Judith Soko

12. Agness Musase

13. Elina Nyirenda

14. Margaret Chisenga


15. Judith Zulu

16. Joana Benaya

17. Ireen Lungu

18. Shelly Masumo

19. Lubasi Pumulo

20. Loveness Malunga


21. Ethel Chama

22. Theresa Chewe

23. Maylan Mulenga

24. Mwangala Kamuti

25. Quincy Malekani

26. Lucy Kajiya

Other participating clubs will include Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (South Africa), Costa Do Sol (Mozambique), Manzini Wanderers Ladies (Eswatini), Prisons XI (Botswana), and Lesotho Defence Force (Lesotho).

This qualifying tournament will be held from 26 August to 4 September 2021.



bottom of page